top of page

Winding yarn

Like most crocheters, I have multiple things I am in the process of making. One of which is a heirloom quality superwash merino wool Cathedral Rose Window afghan. I already made half of this blanket once before as a gift but I used Red Heart Super Saver Yarn. Now, I know most crocheters seem to like RHSS yarn a lot, but I am not one of those crocheters. I would consider myself more of a "yarn snob". Sorry, not sorry. The textural feel of any100% acrylic yarn makes me cringe. I went and bought the dreaded yarn for this one gift I made but I will never willingly buy that yarn again if I don't absolutely have to. I hated working with it. I hated the the way it felt on my hooks. And even after doing the required wash and dry to "soften" it up, I still hate it. It's a beautiful blanket, but I want the one I'm going to snuggle under to be really nice. My personal blanket is going to made from solid colors of Cascade 220 Superwash wool. Since the colors I want to use are not all available in the merino version, I have to use a mix of superwash 220 merino and superwash 220 regular. If you look at the Raverly link above you will see pictures of the finished blanket on the left. The very top one that's all purple colored, that's the same yarn I used to make my gift blanket. The second picture that has the blue fade to orange back to blue, that's how the blanket I'm making for myself is going to look. It's actually a kinds of challenging pattern. As usual I've had to tweek it a bit for me to understand it ll. I'm really glad I made this blanket once before I went to make mine because It's kind of hard to follow. For example, the pattern says to use a "H" hook for the very first center circle, then make the 8 around it with a "G" hook. Well this turns out to make a floppy center circle. So I just made the center circle and the 8 surrounding it all with a "G" hook. Problem solved. So back to why I'm even posting. I spent some time last night winding my yarn into yarn cakes on my winder.

The yarn is really squishy. So what looks like a large ball before I wind it turned out smaller then expected. But I imagine that's from the tension I put on the yarn while winding.


I have my project in a bag I keep together and now that all my yarn is wound it takes up much less space in my bag. I was getting tired of the ball of yarn flipping around all the time in the bag while I was working. Now it can sit nicely in my yarn bowl and come out well behaved. Thank you yarn winder.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page