top of page

Happy Birthday Kate!

A few days ago was my oldest daughters birthday! She turned 17. Every year for my kids birthday, I make them a from scratch birthday cake. No box was used in this endeavor. This daughter asks for a Red Velvet Cake with buttercream frosting not cream cheese frosting. She also requested a Trans flag on the top this year also.

If you didn't already know, Red Velvet cake is pretty much just a lite version of a chocolate cake with loads of red food dye in it.


This cake recipe cooked up really nice. I did have to add 5 minutes to the baking time. Maybe my oven is off, I dunno. While I let the cakes cool, I made the frosting. Here is the recipe I used for the frosting. I used 2% milk for the liquid and added a little more vanilla then it called for. My daughter loved it. She said it tasted like whipped cream!


I whipped it on high speed for a few minutes hoping it would add some fluffiness to it. Not sure if it did or not. Anyways, the last time I made buttercream frosting I used salted butter. This time I used unsalted butter, and it made a huge difference in taste. Funny how something so small like that can affect the flavor. I leveled the cakes with a knife and assembled the beast and my youngest daughter (14) iced the outside of the cake. It's a messy job but someones got to do it! The colored sugar sprinkles really were cute on top too.

Happy Birthday Sweetheart!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Коментарі


bottom of page