top of page

Go For Faux


The other day I was inspired by something I saw on facebook, to cover my steering wheel with a yarn covering. I had posted this in a crochet Facebook group and got a lot of lip about it so I turned off the comments. As you know, Facebook posts in groups can go south really fast. Anyway a few answers to your questions. The yarn is from Joann Fabrics. I love Chinchilla looking things so it was a no brainer for yarn choice. The hook is a size 25mm. I have no idea if it has a letter to the size. I got the hook a few years ago at Micheal's. As for the cover, no it doesn't slip. I made a 4 sc rectangle as if I was making a scarf. I made it long enough where if I sewed the ends together it would snugly fit over the steering wheel. After I sewed the ends together I sewed the side edges together to wrap the wheel and skipped over where the center connected to the wheel. It's sewn on, it does not move. It does provide a better grip then the oversized pink wheel cover I had on it for years that I got at Walmart. There are huge holes in this this where my hands do actually touch the wheel. And yes it's legal here thank you very much. My eventual plan is to crochet seat covers and cover whatever else I can in my car. I've always loved yarn bombed things I see around so I want in on the action! I'll post my progress on yarn bombing my car as I go.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page